ADGA Awards Programs

ADGA’s Bylaws provide for the recognition of exceptional individuals or groups who have significantly contributed to the dairy goat industry. These awards differ in their focus and in the criteria by which nominees are evaluated, but a great deal of care and consideration must go into the selection of recipients of these honors. If approved by the Awards Committee, this documentation will be provided to each Director.

While there are innumerable members who do great service for ADGA, these awards are reserved for the very most outstanding accomplishments.

The following descriptions, explanations and nomination forms are designed 1) to facilitate the process of documentation necessary to the selection process which takes place within the Awards Committee and 2) to assure that future ADGA members will know not only the names but the accomplishments of past Award nominees and recipients. Please feel free to attach additional pages as needed. Send completed forms to the Chair of the Awards Committee.

Director Emeritus – The committee considers names of former Directors submitted to them by the membership for consideration and evaluation for this award. Nominees for Directors Emeritus must have served at least three (3) terms on the Board of Directors. Those selected are submitted to the Board of Directors for election by secret ballot. One or more may be elected as appropriate.

Special Awards – Selection of candidates for awards is made from a list of names submitted to the Awards Committee by the ADGA MEMBERSHIP. If worthy recipients are found, their names will be revealed at the ADGA annual banquet, and later announced at the membership meeting. The final decision on the recipient(s) is the responsibility of the Awards Committee; no Board approval is needed. Winner(s) will be reported in the ADGA News and Events, including citations and, if possible, photos. The names of all award recipients will be listed on the front page of the Guidebook for one year following the award. The Mary L. Farley Award, Directors Emeriti and Historic Herd Names will remain in the Guidebook list in perpetuity.

The Mary L. Farley Award was established by the Board of Directors at their 1959 meeting in honor of Mary L. Farley, Past President (1950-52) and Past Secretary-Treasurer (1945-49). It is awarded only for outstanding work on behalf of the dairy goat industry by an individual, a couple or a partnership (active Board of Director members are ineligible). No more than one award may be given per year and frequency of the award is determined by the Awards Committee. A plaque and a lifetime membership in ADGA will be presented to the recipient. Read Mary’s Biography

The Helen C. Hunt Distinguished Service Award was renamed at the 1995 meeting of the Board of Directors in honor of Helen C. Hunt, past Director and ADGA judge, for her outstanding service to the Association. This award may be given annually to an ADGA member who has rendered distinguished service to ADGA over a period of years. Only one may be given in any single year. Read Helen’s Biography

The Award of Merit is awarded for outstanding service by an ADGA member for the past year. More than one of these awards may be given at the discretion of the Awards Committee. Awards are to be a plaque.

The Friend of ADGA award may be given annually to individuals and/or organizations that have rendered special service to ADGA. More than one of these awards may be given at the discretion of the Awards Committee

An Historic Herd Name is bestowed upon those outstanding herds that have not simply “made a name” for themselves and bred some top quality animals, but have contributed significantly in a number of specifically defined areas to a breed or breeds of dairy goats. Several herds were accepted by the Board of Directors the first year after the award was instituted and qualifying herds have subsequently been added to that prestigious list of Historic Herds that appears in the front of the ADGA Guidebook.  Refer to these instructions for nominating an Historic Herd.

Download the Awards Nomination Form

Awards Nomination Form PDF